---
title: "Financial Modeling Prep vs EvidInvest — broad market data or cited statements (checked September 2026)"
description: "Financial Modeling Prep is a subscription market data API covering stocks, ETFs, forex, crypto and commodities with real-time quotes and 100+ endpoints. EvidInvest is a narrower fundamentals and filings service with per-row filing citations and prepaid credits. Every claim here is read off FMP’s own pages and dated."
canonical: https://evidinvest.com/alternatives/financialmodelingprep
last_updated: "2026-09-09"
---

# Financial Modeling Prep vs EvidInvest: a broad market data subscription, or cited statements you pay for as you go

> Financial Modeling Prep is a subscription market data API — its own home page offers “real-time quotes and over 30 years of financial data — including historical prices, fundamentals, insider transactions and more via API” across stocks, ETFs, funds, indices, forex, crypto and commodities. EvidInvest is deliberately narrower: SEC-filed fundamentals and filing text, standardized back to fiscal 1985, where each US statement row from fiscal 2009 carries the accession number and sec.gov URL behind it, sold as prepaid credits rather than a monthly plan.
> Every claim about Financial Modeling Prep below was read off its own pages on 2026-09-09;
> the source URL and that date are printed on each comparison row.
> Canonical page: https://evidinvest.com/alternatives/financialmodelingprep.

## Who Financial Modeling Prep suits

Financial Modeling Prep suits a team building a product that needs many kinds of market data behind one key. It states 70,000+ securities, 4,500+ cryptocurrencies, 1,500+ forex pairs and 40 commodities, real-time quotes with WebSocket and bulk CSV delivery, analyst estimates, ratings and price targets powered by TipRanks, plus ESG, economics, COT and congressional trading — and it publishes SOC 2 Type 2 compliance and FISD membership. If your requirement list spans several asset classes, that breadth is the case for it and no narrow fundamentals API answers it.

## What Financial Modeling Prep does better

- Breadth of asset classes EvidInvest does not attempt: stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, indices, forex, crypto and commodities across major global exchanges, stated as 70,000+ securities, 4,500+ cryptocurrencies, 1,500+ forex pairs and 40 commodities.
- Real-time quotes on the paid tiers, with WebSocket streaming and intraday intervals from one minute upward. EvidInvest prices are Cboe data delayed at least fifteen minutes with no real-time option at any price.
- An analyst layer EvidInvest has none of: analyst estimates, ratings and price targets, stated as powered by TipRanks, plus 10+ years of analyst estimates.
- Enterprise procurement posture — they publish SOC 2 Type 2 compliance, FISD membership, an SLA-backed commercial tier and direct exchange relationships with NASDAQ, LSEG, CBOE and TMX.
- A very wide endpoint catalogue, stated as 100+ endpoints, including ESG, economics, COT reports, ETF and mutual fund holdings, insider and congressional trading, and bulk/CSV delivery for backfills.
- Their own MCP server wraps that entire REST surface: “Our new MCP Server wraps all of our traditional REST API endpoints into ready-to-use AI tools”, metered against your existing plan limits.

## What EvidInvest does differently

- EvidInvest is fundamentals and filings only. There is no forex, no crypto, no commodities, no real-time feed and no analyst estimate layer — that is a narrower product, not a cheaper version of a broad one.
- Every US statement row from fiscal 2009 carries the form, period, filing date, accession number and sec.gov URL of the filing where that fiscal year first appeared, over REST and MCP alike.
- History is not tiered. The full standardized series from fiscal 1985 is on the same terms as everything else, rather than being a feature of an upper plan.
- Non-US coverage is not tiered either: the 40,000+ listings on 60+ exchanges come with the same access as the US set — though they are standardized statements with end-of-day prices, with no filing behind them.
- The billing model is prepaid credits with no subscription: the website is free, credits never expire, and there is nothing to cancel.
- Valuation is solved backwards as well as forwards — reverse DCF asks what growth today’s price implies, and every input is shown and adjustable rather than delivered as a single number.

## Side by side

| Capability | Financial Modeling Prep | EvidInvest | Source (read on) |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| What you are actually getting | A broad market data API: “Financial data for every need — Access real-time quotes and over 30 years of financial data”, stated as 100+ endpoints across stocks, ETFs, funds, indices, forex, crypto and commodities. | A fundamentals and filings service: standardized statements, filing and transcript search, supply-chain facts from 10-K text and valuation, as a website, a REST API and an MCP server. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/ (2026-09-09) |
| Data source and how far back it goes | States “30+ Years of Fundamentals Data” and “30+ years of Historical Daily Price Data”. Depth is tiered: up to 5 years on the Starter plan, “up to 30 Years History” from Premium upward. | Standardized annual statements from fiscal 1985 — 30+ annual periods on file for 5,000+ US-listed companies — on the same terms at every price point, not gated to an upper tier. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs/pricing (2026-09-09) |
| Non-US coverage | Tiered by plan on their own pricing table: Starter is “US Coverage”, Premium adds “UK and Canada Coverage”, and Ultimate is “Global Coverage”. | Over 40,000 listings on 60+ exchanges, standardized with end-of-day prices, available on the same terms as the US set — with no SEC filing behind those rows, so no filing link and no 1985-deep history there. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs/pricing (2026-09-09) |
| Standardized statements across companies | Yes: “audited, standardized, and real-time updates of income statements, balance sheets, and cash flow statements on a quarterly and annual basis”, plus separate as-reported endpoints. | Yes — one normalized schema for income statement, balance sheet and cash flow, annual and quarterly, over both the US and the non-US universe. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs (2026-09-09) |
| Citations on each statement row | Not stated. Their home page claims “complete traceability for every data point” without describing a mechanism, the 13F extract endpoint mentions filing links, and a financial-reports endpoint returns the 10-K report — but no page checked states that each statement line carries a source-filing citation. | Yes, on every US statement row from fiscal 2009: filing_date, accession and a sec.gov source_url for the filing where that fiscal year first appeared. Pre-2009 rows carry null there rather than a fabricated link. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs (2026-09-09) |
| Earnings-call transcripts | Yes: an Earnings Transcript API returning the full transcript of a call, with “10+ Years of Earnings and Call Transcripts”. Gated to the Ultimate plan on their pricing table. | Yes — earnings-call transcript search is one of the tools, on both REST and MCP, on the same terms as everything else. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs (2026-09-09) |
| 13F institutional holdings | Yes: “Form 13F APIs — Explore institutional ownership data, filings, holdings, and fund performance.” Gated to the Ultimate plan. | On the website only, at evidinvest.com/holders/{SYMBOL}. It is not one of the MCP tools, so an agent cannot query 13F positions from EvidInvest today. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/ (2026-09-09) |
| Valuation models (DCF, reverse DCF, fair value) | Yes: a DCF Valuation API to “estimate the intrinsic value of a company”, plus levered and custom DCF endpoints and a published DCF methodology page. The Custom DCF Calculator is a Premium-tier feature. | Seven methods — DCF, reverse DCF, P/E growth, earnings power, Graham, EV/EBITDA, EV/FCF and P/E versus sector — each solved for what today’s price implies, with every input shown and adjustable. No buy or sell verdict is produced. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs (2026-09-09) |
| Real-time versus delayed prices | Their pricing comparison table sets the timeframe row to end-of-day on the free Basic plan and real-time on Starter, Premium and Ultimate. | Delayed only. Prices are Cboe data delayed at least fifteen minutes, labelled as such on every price-bearing response, with daily history back to 2004. There is no real-time tier. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs/pricing (2026-09-09) |
| MCP server | Yes: “Financial Modeling Prep (FMP) now supports the Model Context Protocol (MCP)”, at financialmodelingprep.com/mcp with the API key in the query string, wrapping all REST endpoints and metered against the plan’s existing limits. Tool count is not stated. | Hosted at mcp.evidinvest.com/mcp over Streamable HTTP, 59 tools, OAuth 2.1 in the browser so Claude and ChatGPT need no key pasted, or an API key as a bearer token. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs/mcp-server (2026-09-09) |
| Price | Basic is free with 250 calls per day and end-of-day data. Paid personal plans as published on the annual-billing view: Starter $22.00 per month billed annually, Premium $59.00, Ultimate $149.00. Commercial use is a single Enterprise tier priced on request. A trailing-30-day bandwidth cap applies per plan, from 500 MB on Free to 150 GB on Ultimate. | The website is free with no account. AI analyses and API/MCP usage draw on prepaid credits: Starter $10 for 360 credits, Plus $20 for 720, Pro $59 for 2,000. Credits never expire and there is no subscription. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs/pricing (2026-09-09) |
| Billing model and display licensing | Recurring subscription, monthly or annual, per plan; no prepaid or credit model is stated. Separately: “Displaying or redistributing data sourced from FMP requires a specific Data Display and Licensing Agreement with FMP.” | Prepaid credits, no subscription and no minimum. One balance across the website, the REST API and the MCP server. | https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs/pricing?planType=commercial (2026-09-09) |

## Pick Financial Modeling Prep if…

you need breadth. Forex, crypto, commodities, real-time quotes over WebSocket, analyst estimates and price targets, ESG and economics behind a single key — EvidInvest carries none of that, and no amount of filing citations substitutes for a real-time feed you actually need. It is also the better fit if you are buying for a team that wants SOC 2 Type 2, FISD membership and an SLA on the paperwork.

## Pick EvidInvest if…

your work is fundamentals and filings, you want the full statement history on the entry terms rather than as an upper-tier feature, you want each US row from fiscal 2009 to name the filing it came from so a person or a model can open it, or you would rather buy credits once than hold a subscription. It is also the simpler answer if your consumer is an AI assistant and you want OAuth rather than an API key in a URL.

## Where EvidInvest is the weaker choice

- Filing links start at fiscal 2009. That is where the SEC’s structured XBRL data begins, so US statement rows from fiscal 2009 onward carry the form, period, filing date, accession number and sec.gov URL — and rows older than that carry the standardized figures with a null citation rather than a fabricated link. The series still runs back to fiscal 1985; the link does not.
- Institutional ownership from Form 13F is published on the website, at evidinvest.com/holders/{SYMBOL}, and is not one of the MCP tools. If you need 13F positions inside an agent or a script today, EvidInvest is not the way to get them.
- Coverage outside the US is standardized statements, not filing links. The 40,000+ non-US listings on 60+ exchanges are normalized by EvidInvest with end-of-day prices; there is no SEC filing behind them, no source document to open, and nothing like the 1985-deep history the US series has.
- Prices are Cboe data delayed at least fifteen minutes and labelled as such on every response. There is no real-time feed, no tick data, no full options chain archive and no crypto at any price. Options positioning is previous-session only.
- Quarterly statements do not reach as far back as the annual series, so a decades-long quarterly panel is not available.
- EvidInvest is a hosted service. There is no open-source distribution and nothing to run inside your own network — if that is a requirement, stop reading here.

## FAQ

### How much does Financial Modeling Prep cost?

On the annual-billing view of their pricing page, the personal plans are Starter at $22.00 per month billed annually, Premium at $59.00 and Ultimate at $149.00, alongside a free Basic plan with 250 calls per day and end-of-day data. Commercial use is a single Enterprise tier priced on request. Their monthly-billing prices are behind a toggle that did not render without JavaScript, so treat every figure here as the annual-billed one and check the monthly column yourself before budgeting.

### Does Financial Modeling Prep have a free tier?

Yes. Their Basic plan is listed as free with 250 calls per day, end-of-day historical data, profile and reference data, and access to what the page describes as over 150 endpoints. A trailing-30-day bandwidth cap of 500 MB applies to it. Deep history, real-time quotes and non-US coverage are not on that plan.

### Does Financial Modeling Prep link each number back to the SEC filing it came from?

Not on any page checked on 9 September 2026. Their home page claims “complete traceability for every data point” without describing a mechanism, their 13F extract endpoint mentions filing links, and a financial-reports endpoint returns the 10-K report — but nothing states that individual statement lines carry a source-filing citation. That is silence on their pages, not evidence the capability is absent; ask them directly if it matters to you.

### Do I need a subscription to use EvidInvest?

No. The website is free to read with no account at all, and everything metered — AI analyses on the site, REST API and MCP usage — runs off prepaid credits from a single balance. The packs are Starter $10 for 360 credits, Plus $20 for 720 and Pro $59 for 2,000. Credits never expire, there is no monthly minimum, and there is nothing to cancel.

### Which one covers more of the market?

Financial Modeling Prep, clearly and by design. It states 70,000+ securities, 4,500+ cryptocurrencies, 1,500+ forex pairs and 40 commodities, with real-time quotes and analyst estimates. EvidInvest is fundamentals and filings: US-listed filers back to fiscal 1985 with filing citations from 2009, plus 40,000+ non-US listings as standardized statements with end-of-day prices. If coverage breadth is the deciding column, this comparison ends quickly.

### Can I display Financial Modeling Prep data in my own product?

Their pricing page states that “displaying or redistributing data sourced from FMP requires a specific Data Display and Licensing Agreement with FMP”, and commercial use is a separate Enterprise tier priced on request. That is a procurement conversation rather than a checkout, so factor it into the timeline as well as the budget.

## Sources

Every Financial Modeling Prep cell above was read from these pages on 2026-09-09:

- https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/
- https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs
- https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs/pricing
- https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs/pricing?planType=commercial
- https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs/mcp-server

Product home page: https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/

## Related pages

- All comparisons: https://evidinvest.com/alternatives (Markdown: https://evidinvest.com/alternatives.md)
- Nine financial data APIs in one dated table: https://evidinvest.com/compare/financial-data-apis
- The EvidInvest MCP server and every tool name: https://evidinvest.com/mcp
- What EvidInvest costs: https://evidinvest.com/pricing (Markdown: https://evidinvest.com/pricing.md)

Research and data software, not investment advice.

## Sitemap

See the full [sitemap](https://evidinvest.com/sitemap.md) for every page on this site,
the [index for language models](https://evidinvest.com/llms.txt), and the
[glossary](https://evidinvest.com/learn/glossary) for the terms used above.
