---
title: "Financial data APIs compared (September 2026)"
description: "Nine financial data APIs side by side on entry price, years of statement history, cited SEC filing text, MCP support, free tier and non-US coverage. Every competitor cell was read off that vendor’s own page, with the URL listed and the date printed."
canonical: https://evidinvest.com/compare/financial-data-apis
last_updated: "2026-09-02"
---

# Financial data APIs compared (September 2026)

> Nine providers, eight columns, one rule: every competitor cell was read off that company’s
> own pricing or documentation page on 2 September 2026, with the URL listed at the bottom.
> Where a vendor does not state something, the cell says “not stated” instead of guessing.
> Where their own pages disagree, both readings are quoted.
> Canonical page: https://evidinvest.com/compare/financial-data-apis. Re-checked monthly.

## The comparison

### EvidInvest (this site)

| Column | What the vendor states |
| --- | --- |
| Entry price | Free to start, then credit packs: $10 = 360 credits, $20 = 720, $59 = 2,000 |
| What the entry tier includes | 900 API and MCP calls on the first key, no card. 54 REST tools, 59 over MCP (options positioning and the four thesis tools have no REST twin). |
| Years of statement history | Annual statements from fiscal 1985 — 40 years. 30+ annual periods on file for 5,000+ US-listed companies. Filing-linked from fiscal 2009. |
| Filing citation with the data | Yes, on every statement row, over REST and MCP alike: each row carries filing_date, accession and source_url for the filing where that fiscal year first appeared (null on pre-XBRL archive rows). Filing and transcript search return the passage with its accession and sec.gov URL too. |
| MCP server | Yes — first-party, streamable HTTP at mcp.evidinvest.com/mcp |
| Free tier | 900 calls on the first key. No card. |
| Subscription or pay-as-you-go | Pay as you go. Starter $10 = 360 credits, Plus $20 = 720, Pro $59 = 2,000. 1 credit = 10 API/MCP calls; AI analyses draw credits by the tokens they use. Credits never expire, no subscription. |
| Non-US coverage | 40,000+ listings on 60+ exchanges, standardized by EvidInvest, end-of-day prices, no filing link. |

### Financial Modeling Prep

| Column | What the vendor states |
| --- | --- |
| Entry price | $29/month, or $22/month billed annually |
| What the entry tier includes | Starter: 300 API calls/minute, annual fundamentals and ratios, historical prices, profile and reference data, news, crypto and forex. |
| Years of statement history | “Historical Data Range: 5 years” on the entry tiers. “30+ years” starts at Premium, $69/month. The free tier also caps statements at 5 results. |
| Filing citation with the data | No — the SEC endpoints return filing indexes and metadata with links to the filing. There is no passage-level search in the documented endpoint list. |
| MCP server | Yes — first-party hosted server at financialmodelingprep.com/mcp, metered against the account’s API limits. Tool count not stated. |
| Free tier | 250 calls/day, end-of-day data only, 500 MB per 30 days. Card requirement not stated. |
| Subscription or pay-as-you-go | Subscription only, monthly or annual. No pay-as-you-go option. |
| Non-US coverage | Gated by tier — the entry plan is US only, UK and Canada arrive at $69/month, and global coverage at $139/month. |

### Massive

formerly Polygon.io; renamed 30 October 2025

| Column | What the vendor states |
| --- | --- |
| Entry price | $29/month, per asset class |
| What the entry tier includes | Stocks Starter: unlimited API calls, minute aggregates, WebSockets, 5 years of history. No real-time, no financials. |
| Years of statement history | Income statements: “Records date back to March 29, 2009.” The “20+ years” on the pricing page is market data, not statements. |
| Filing citation with the data | No — no filing full-text search in the documented endpoint list. |
| MCP server | Yes — first-party, for Claude Code, Cursor and ChatGPT. Endpoint URL not stated on reachable pages. |
| Free tier | Stocks Basic $0 — 5 calls/minute, 2 years of history, no financials. Card not mentioned. |
| Subscription or pay-as-you-go | Subscription, priced per asset class. Financials are a $29/month add-on, or bundled at Stocks Advanced $199/month. |
| Non-US coverage | US only — “the entire universe of US equities data”, sourced from the SIPs and FINRA TRFs. |

### Alpha Vantage

| Column | What the vendor states |
| --- | --- |
| Entry price | $49.99/month |
| What the entry tier includes | 75 API requests per minute, no daily limits, premium support. |
| Years of statement history | Not stated — the fundamentals documentation gives no depth for statements, though price series are described as “20+ years”. A live call on their own demo key returned 20 annual periods for IBM, the oldest ending 2006-12-31. |
| Filing citation with the data | No — no filing full-text search appears in the documentation. |
| MCP server | Yes — first-party, mcp.alphavantage.co. Tool count not stated. |
| Free tier | 25 requests/day, and unlimited for verified open-source or educational projects. Card not stated for the free key. |
| Subscription or pay-as-you-go | Subscription, monthly or annual. |
| Non-US coverage | Yes — 100,000+ symbols, with worked examples for London, Toronto, XETRA, BSE, Shanghai and Shenzhen. No exchange count given. |

### EODHD

| Column | What the vendor states |
| --- | --- |
| Entry price | $19.99/month; fundamentals feed $59.99/month |
| What the entry tier includes | Entry plan is end-of-day prices only: 100,000 calls/day, 1,000 requests/minute, 150,000+ tickers. Statements are not in it. |
| Years of statement history | “Major US companies are covered from 1985 (40+ years); non-US symbols from 2000 (25+ years).” Around 11,000 NYSE, NASDAQ and ARCA tickers have 25+ years; minor companies have 6 years. |
| Filing citation with the data | No — filings are delivered as XBRL extracted into flat fields, 10-K/10-Q/8-K from 1994. No full-text search over the filing. |
| MCP server | Yes — first-party, mcp.eodhd.com, v1 by API key and v2 by OAuth. |
| Free tier | 20 calls/day plus a 500-call welcome bonus. No card required, stated explicitly. |
| Subscription or pay-as-you-go | Subscription, monthly or annual, minimum one month. |
| Non-US coverage | Yes — 70 exchanges as of August 2026, including LSE, XETRA and Warsaw. |

### Finnhub

| Column | What the vendor states |
| --- | --- |
| Entry price | $49.99/month market data; fundamentals from $50/month per market |
| What the entry tier includes | Basic: 150 calls/minute, personal-use licence, US only, 10 years of daily OHLC. No standardized statements. |
| Years of statement history | Fundamental-1: “10 years and 40 quarters.” Fundamental-2 and All-In-One: “30+ years annually and quarterly.” |
| Filing citation with the data | Yes — Global Filings Search returns matched excerpts and highlight positions across SEC, SEDAR and UK filings. Premium, priced on request rather than on a published tier. |
| MCP server | Yes — first-party, mcp.finnhub.io/mcp, OAuth, 70 tools, published 6 August 2026. |
| Free tier | $0 — 60 calls/minute, US fundamentals only, no standardized statements. Card not stated. |
| Subscription or pay-as-you-go | Subscription, quarterly or annual. Fundamentals sold one market per subscription. |
| Non-US coverage | Partial — TSX, LSE, Euronext and Deutsche Börse. LSE delayed 15 minutes; other international markets end-of-day only. |

### Tiingo

| Column | What the vendor states |
| --- | --- |
| Entry price | $30/month; fundamentals are a paid add-on |
| What the entry tier includes | Power: 109,841 unique symbols/month, 10,000 requests/hour, end-of-day composite prices, IEX feed, crypto, news. Fundamentals are not included and the add-on price is not stated. |
| Years of statement history | Their own pages disagree: the pricing page says “15+ Years” for Power, the fundamentals documentation says “Data goes back over 20 years.” |
| Filing citation with the data | Not stated — specific forms are ingested, but no search endpoint over filing text is described. |
| MCP server | Not stated anywhere on the site or documentation. |
| Free tier | Starter $0 — 500 unique symbols/month, 50 requests/hour. Fundamentals limited to 3 years of the Dow 30. Card not stated. |
| Subscription or pay-as-you-go | Subscription, plus a paid fundamentals add-on. |
| Non-US coverage | Mixed — the pricing page claims 109,841 global securities, while the fundamentals documentation says coverage is US equities and ADRs, 5,500+ companies. |

### Intrinio

| Column | What the vendor states |
| --- | --- |
| Entry price | $150/month |
| What the entry tier includes | Individual: options, equities, US fundamentals and US end-of-day, stocks delayed 15 minutes, 1 seat, no redistribution or display. Call limits not stated. |
| Years of statement history | “15+ years of standardized & as-reported financial statement data, sourced directly from the SEC.” No start year is given. |
| Filing citation with the data | Not stated — no filing full-text search product appears on the data-feed pages. |
| MCP server | Yes — first-party, intrinio-mcp.intrinio.com/mcp, unlocked by every active subscription. |
| Free tier | None. A free trial is offered; its length, limits and card requirement are not stated. |
| Subscription or pay-as-you-go | Subscription only. No credits or pay-as-you-go. |
| Non-US coverage | Not stated — the feeds are named US Fundamentals, US EOD and US Index Constituents; only indices and ETF holdings are described as global. |

### sec-api.io

| Column | What the vendor states |
| --- | --- |
| Entry price | $49/month billed annually, $55/month billed monthly |
| What the entry tier includes | Personal & Startups: Query API 20 req/s, Extractor, XBRL converter, Mapping, Stream, Download, PDF, MCP server, 50 GB/month. Full-Text Search is not in this tier. |
| Years of statement history | Filings archive since 1993. XBRL financial statements “2005 to present.” The full-text index covers “all EDGAR filings and exhibits published since 2001.” |
| Filing citation with the data | Yes — every result carries filingUrl, “the direct URL to the source document on SEC.gov”. |
| MCP server | Yes — first-party, api.sec-api.io/mcp, remote, no install. |
| Free tier | “Your first 100 API calls are on us.” One-off, not recurring. Card requirement not stated. |
| Subscription or pay-as-you-go | Subscription, plus $0.30/GB on download beyond 50 GB. |
| Non-US coverage | None — it is an EDGAR product. Foreign issuers that file with the SEC are covered through 20-F, 40-F, 6-K and the F-series. |

## What EvidInvest costs

| Pack | Price (USD) | Credits |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Starter | $10 | 360 credits |
| Plus | $20 | 720 credits |
| Pro | $59 | 2,000 credits |

The first API key comes with 900 API and MCP calls, free, no card. After that, credit packs are Starter $10 for 360 credits, Plus $20 for 720 credits and Pro $59 for 2,000 credits. API and MCP data calls bill at one credit for ten calls; AI analyses draw credits by the tokens they use. Credits never expire, there is no subscription, and the website itself is free to use.

## FAQ

### Why does the comparison table say "not stated" for some providers?

Because that vendor does not state the fact on its own pages. Every competitor cell was read from the vendor's own pricing or documentation page on 2 September 2026; where a page is silent, the cell says so rather than filling in a figure from a third party.

### Which financial data APIs have more than 30 years of statement history?

On their own stated figures as of 2 September 2026: EvidInvest states annual statements from fiscal 1985, EODHD states major US companies from 1985, Finnhub states 30+ years on its Fundamental-2 and All-In-One tiers, and Financial Modeling Prep states 30+ years from its $69/month Premium plan upward. Massive states income statements from March 2009, sec-api.io states XBRL statements from 2005, Intrinio states 15+ years without a start year, and Alpha Vantage and Tiingo do not state a consistent depth.

### Which financial data APIs return SEC filing text with a citation?

Three of the nine compared here. EvidInvest returns the filing passage with its accession number and sec.gov URL, sec-api.io returns a direct filingUrl to sec.gov, and Finnhub returns matched excerpts through its Global Filings Search, priced on request. The others return numbers without a link to the filing behind them.

### How much does the EvidInvest API cost?

The first API key comes with 900 API and MCP calls, free, no card. After that, credit packs are Starter $10 for 360 credits, Plus $20 for 720 credits and Pro $59 for 2,000 credits. API and MCP data calls bill at one credit for ten calls; AI analyses draw credits by the tokens they use. Credits never expire, there is no subscription, and the website itself is free to use.

### When should you not use EvidInvest?

When you need real-time or tick data, full options chains at scale, or crypto. EvidInvest prices are Cboe delayed by at least 15 minutes and it publishes no tick feed, no full chain history and no crypto coverage. It is a fundamentals and filings product.

## Sources

Every competitor cell above was read from these pages on 2 September 2026.

### Financial Modeling Prep

- https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs/pricing
- https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/pricing.md
- https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/api-docs.md

Their front door blocks automated requests, so the figures above were taken from the markdown mirrors the site publishes in its own llms.txt, cross-checked against the rendered pricing page. The MCP endpoint is described on their own blog; no MCP documentation page exists, so the tool count is not stated.

### Massive

- https://massive.com/pricing
- https://massive.com/docs/rest/stocks/fundamentals/income-statements.md
- https://massive.com/docs
- https://massive.com/stocks

The rebrand from Polygon.io is announced at massive.com/blog/polygon-is-now-massive; polygon.io redirects here.

### Alpha Vantage

- https://www.alphavantage.co/premium/
- https://www.alphavantage.co/documentation/
- https://www.alphavantage.co/support/

### EODHD

- https://eodhd.com/pricing
- https://eodhd.com/financial-apis/stock-etfs-fundamental-data-feeds/
- https://eodhd.com/financial-apis/sec-filings-api
- https://eodhd.com/financial-apis/mcp-server-for-financial-data
- https://eodhd.com/financial-apis/list-supported-exchanges

### Finnhub

- https://finnhub.io/pricing
- https://finnhub.io/docs/api/global-filings-search
- https://finnhub.io/static/finnhub-how-to-connect-mcp-server.html

The pricing page renders client-side; its figures were read from the data the page itself serves rather than from a rendered screenshot.

### Tiingo

- https://www.tiingo.com/pricing
- https://www.tiingo.com/documentation/fundamentals

### Intrinio

- https://intrinio.com/pricing
- https://intrinio.com/equity-market-data-packages
- https://intrinio.com/data-feeds
- https://intrinio.com/mcp

### sec-api.io

- https://sec-api.io/pricing
- https://sec-api.io/docs/full-text-search-api
- https://sec-api.io/docs/xbrl-to-json-converter-api
- https://sec-api.io/docs/mcp-server

## Related pages

- One page per named competitor, sourced and dated: https://evidinvest.com/alternatives (Markdown: https://evidinvest.com/alternatives.md)
- The EvidInvest MCP server and every tool name: https://evidinvest.com/mcp (Markdown: https://evidinvest.com/mcp.md)
- Developer documentation and the REST catalogue: https://evidinvest.com/developers (Markdown: https://evidinvest.com/developers.md)
- Pricing: https://evidinvest.com/pricing (Markdown: https://evidinvest.com/pricing.md)

Research and data software, not investment advice.

## Sitemap

See the full [sitemap](https://evidinvest.com/sitemap.md) for every page on this site,
the [index for language models](https://evidinvest.com/llms.txt), and the
[glossary](https://evidinvest.com/learn/glossary) for the terms used above.
