Comparison · every row sourced and dated
EODHD vs EvidInvest: 60+ exchanges on a subscription, or cited SEC statements on prepaid credits
EODHD is a subscription market data API that its own home page describes as covering “Stocks, ETFs & Forex — real-time, historical, and end-of-day financial data”, stated elsewhere as 60+ exchanges, 150,000+ tickers and 30+ years of history through a single REST API. EvidInvest overlaps it on one column only — standardized fundamentals — and differs on what sits behind each row: US statement rows from fiscal 2009 carry the accession number and sec.gov URL of the filing they came from, and access is prepaid credits rather than a monthly plan.
Every claim about EODHD below was read off its own public pages, each row links to the page it came from, and anything those pages do not state is written “not stated” rather than guessed. Where EvidInvest is the weaker choice, that section is on this page too.
Checked against eodhd.com. EvidInvest is independent of and unaffiliated with EODHD; all trademarks belong to their owners.
What is EODHD, and who is it for?
EODHD suits developers and quant researchers who need genuine global breadth cheaply. It states 60+ exchanges and 150,000+ tickers with all asset classes through one API, real-time WebSocket feeds with sub-second latency for US, major European and Asian markets, forex and crypto, plus US options chains with Greeks, tick data, macro indicators, sanctions screening and news sentiment. Its fundamentals product explicitly covers US, UK, EU and Asian exchanges rather than treating non-US as an upsell, and its entry plans start very low.
What EODHD does better than EvidInvest
Global exchange breadth as the core product: 60+ exchanges and 150,000+ tickers with all asset classes through one REST API, plus 20,000 ETFs, 600 indices and 1,100 forex pairs. EvidInvest has no forex, no crypto and no commodities at all.
Real-time infrastructure EvidInvest does not offer at any price: WebSocket feeds with sub-second latency for US, major European and Asian markets, forex and crypto, with 15–20 minute delayed feeds available more cheaply for further exchanges.
Non-US fundamentals as a first-class product covering US, UK, EU and Asian exchanges, with non-US symbols stated back to 2000 — where EvidInvest’s non-US rows carry no filing and less depth.
A very wide catalogue beyond equities: US options chains with Greeks, tick data, macroeconomic indicators, sanctions and OFAC screening, congressional trades, commodities, credit and sovereign risk, ESG, and news with sentiment.
Deep AI tooling: a 72-tool MCP server across 15 categories with both an API-key endpoint and an OAuth 2.1 endpoint, open-sourced on GitHub, plus Claude skills, a ChatGPT assistant, Excel and Google Sheets add-ons, and SDKs for Python, R, Node, PHP and Java.
A cheap entry point and an à la carte marketplace — single-dataset APIs from $9.99 to $29.99 per month, as shown in USD — so you can buy one dataset rather than a platform.
What EvidInvest does differently
EvidInvest is fundamentals and filings only. No forex, no crypto, no commodities, no options chains, no macro indicators and no real-time feed — that is a much narrower product than EODHD, deliberately.
Every US statement row from fiscal 2009 carries the form, period, filing date, accession number and sec.gov URL of the filing where that fiscal year first appeared, over REST and MCP alike.
Filing and earnings-transcript search return the passage as filed with its accession number and sec.gov URL, rather than only structured fields extracted from it.
Valuation is part of the product: seven methods including reverse DCF, each solved for what today’s price implies, with the inputs shown and adjustable.
The billing model is prepaid credits with no subscription and no minimum term, and the website itself is free to read with no account.
Commercial use is not a separate negotiation — EODHD labels its four paid personal plans “Personal use” and routes commercial use to an enterprise conversation.
EODHD vs EvidInvest, capability by capability
Scroll sideways on a narrow screen. The last column is the EODHD page each row was read from — open it and check. Rows marked “not stated” mean their pages are silent on the point, which is not the same as the feature being absent.
| Capability | EODHD | EvidInvest | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| What you are actually getting | A broad market data API: “a single REST API with JSON responses — covering 60+ exchanges, 150K+ tickers, 30+ years of historical data, fundamentals, options, bonds, forex, crypto, and macroeconomic indicators.” | A fundamentals and filings service: standardized statements, cited filing and transcript search, supply-chain facts from 10-K text and valuation, as a website, a REST API and an MCP server. | eodhd.com/financial-apis/checked |
| Data source and how far back it goes | Stated as 30+ years, 60 stock exchanges and 150,000 tickers on the home page — note their MCP landing page says 70+ exchanges for the same product. Fundamentals: “Major US companies are covered from 1985 (40+ years); non-US symbols from 2000 (25+ years).” | Standardized annual statements from fiscal 1985 — 30+ annual periods on file for 5,000+ US-listed companies. On the US fundamentals start year the two are the same claim; the difference is what each row carries with it. | eodhd.com/financial-apis/stock-etfs-fundamental-data-feedschecked |
| Non-US coverage | A core part of the product, not a tier: fundamentals “from major US, UK, EU, and Asian exchanges”, with non-US symbols stated from 2000, addressed as CODE.EXCHANGE. | Over 40,000 listings on 60+ exchanges, standardized with end-of-day prices — and no SEC filing behind them, so no filing link and no 1985-deep history on those rows. On non-US depth EODHD states more than we do. | eodhd.com/financial-apis/stock-etfs-fundamental-data-feedschecked |
| Standardized statements across companies | Yes: balance sheet, income statement and cash flow, yearly and quarterly, each with a currency symbol. Depth is uneven and they say so — around 11,000 NYSE, NASDAQ and ARCA tickers have 25+ years, “minor companies have the last 6 years and 20 quarters”, and “not every company reports every data point, so some fields may be empty”. | Yes — one normalized schema for income statement, balance sheet and cash flow, annual and quarterly, over both the US and the non-US universe. | eodhd.com/financial-apis/stock-etfs-fundamental-data-feedschecked |
| Citations on each statement row | Filing-level, in their SEC Filings API, which is marked beta: each filing row carries an accession_number, and statements are “extracted from XBRL into a flat, ready-to-use field set”. The url fields on that endpoint point at EODHD’s own API rather than at EDGAR. A per-statement-line link back to the source SEC document is not stated on the pages checked. | Row-level: every US statement row from fiscal 2009 carries filing_date, accession and a sec.gov source_url for the filing where that fiscal year first appeared, over REST and MCP alike. Pre-2009 rows carry null rather than a fabricated link. | eodhd.com/financial-apis/sec-filings-apichecked |
| Earnings-call transcripts | Not stated. The word “transcript” does not appear on their full API catalogue page or on the five other pages checked; their earnings coverage is a calendar API plus earnings and earnings-trend fields in Fundamentals. | Yes — earnings-call transcript search is one of the tools, on both REST and MCP. | eodhd.com/financial-apis/checked |
| Institutional ownership | Yes, though never labelled 13F: Fundamentals includes a Holders block with institutional and fund ownership — name, date, totalShares, totalAssets, currentShares, change and change_p — plus a PercentInstitutions field. Insider data is separate, as an SEC Form 4 endpoint. | Form 13F holdings are published on the website, at evidinvest.com/holders/{SYMBOL}. They are not one of the MCP tools, so an agent cannot query them from EvidInvest today. | eodhd.com/financial-apis/stock-etfs-fundamental-data-feedschecked |
| Valuation models (DCF, reverse DCF, fair value) | Not stated. Discounted cash flow, fair value and intrinsic value appear on none of the six pages checked; the “Valuation” block inside Fundamentals is described as market valuation ratios, which is multiples rather than a model. | Seven methods — DCF, reverse DCF, P/E growth, earnings power, Graham, EV/EBITDA, EV/FCF and P/E versus sector — each solved for what today’s price implies, with every input shown and adjustable. No buy or sell verdict is produced. | eodhd.com/financial-apis/checked |
| Real-time versus delayed prices | Real-time over REST and WebSocket “with sub-second latency” for US exchanges, major European and Asian markets, forex and crypto; “delayed data (15–20 min) is available for additional exchanges at lower cost”. Simultaneous WebSocket tickers are capped at 50 on the listed paid plans. | Delayed only. Prices are Cboe data delayed at least fifteen minutes, labelled as such on every price-bearing response, with daily history back to 2004. There is no real-time tier. | eodhd.com/checked |
| MCP server | Yes, and prominently: “MCP Server for Financial Data — 72 read-only tools for market data, fundamentals, news, and analytics”, across 15 categories, with an API-key endpoint at mcp.eodhd.com/v1/mcp and an OAuth 2.1 endpoint at mcp.eodhd.com/v2/mcp, open-sourced on GitHub. | Hosted at mcp.evidinvest.com/mcp over Streamable HTTP, 59 tools, OAuth 2.1 in the browser so Claude and ChatGPT need no key pasted, or an API key as a bearer token. | eodhd.com/lp/eodhd-mcp-serverchecked |
| Price | As shown in USD on their pricing page: a free package at $0, EOD Historical Data All World at $19.99 per month or $199.00 per year, EOD+Intraday All World Extended at $29.99 or $299.90, the Fundamentals Data Feed at $59.99 or $599.90, and the All-in-One package at $99.99 or $999.90. Single-dataset marketplace APIs run $9.99 to $29.99 per month. Prices are geo-localized — a EU-routed fetch of their home page quoted euros instead. | The website is free with no account. AI analyses and API/MCP usage draw on prepaid credits: Starter $10 for 360 credits, Plus $20 for 720, Pro $59 for 2,000. Credits never expire and there is no subscription. | eodhd.com/pricingchecked |
| Billing model and commercial use | Recurring subscription with “no long-term commitments, just a minimum of one month”, paid by Stripe or PayPal; no prepaid or credit model is stated. All four paid plans are labelled “Type of Usage: Personal use” — commercial use routes to a Startups & Enterprise Data Solution Plan. | Prepaid credits, no subscription and no minimum term. One balance across the website, the REST API and the MCP server. | eodhd.com/pricingchecked |
Which one should you pick?
Pick EODHD if…
you need global market data breadth on a small budget. 60+ exchanges, 150,000+ tickers, real-time WebSocket feeds, options chains with Greeks, macro indicators and news sentiment, with non-US fundamentals treated as a core product rather than an upsell — EvidInvest carries none of that, and on non-US fundamentals depth EODHD states more than we do. Their à la carte marketplace also lets you buy one dataset instead of a platform.
Pick EvidInvest if…
you need each US statement row to name the filing it came from, so a person or a model can open the 10-K and check the number rather than trusting a field. Also if you want filing and transcript passages returned with their accession numbers, valuation models over the same data, or a prepaid balance instead of a monthly plan — and if your use is commercial, since EvidInvest does not route that through a separate enterprise tier.
Where EvidInvest is the weaker choice
A comparison page that only lists its author's strengths is an advertisement. These are real constraints, not softened ones.
Filing links start at fiscal 2009. That is where the SEC’s structured XBRL data begins, so US statement rows from fiscal 2009 onward carry the form, period, filing date, accession number and sec.gov URL — and rows older than that carry the standardized figures with a null citation rather than a fabricated link. The series still runs back to fiscal 1985; the link does not.
Institutional ownership from Form 13F is published on the website, at evidinvest.com/holders/{SYMBOL}, and is not one of the MCP tools. If you need 13F positions inside an agent or a script today, EvidInvest is not the way to get them.
Coverage outside the US is standardized statements, not filing links. The 40,000+ non-US listings on 60+ exchanges are normalized by EvidInvest with end-of-day prices; there is no SEC filing behind them, no source document to open, and nothing like the 1985-deep history the US series has.
Prices are Cboe data delayed at least fifteen minutes and labelled as such on every response. There is no real-time feed, no tick data, no full options chain archive and no crypto at any price. Options positioning is previous-session only.
Quarterly statements do not reach as far back as the annual series, so a decades-long quarterly panel is not available.
EvidInvest is a hosted service. There is no open-source distribution and nothing to run inside your own network — if that is a requirement, stop reading here.
Questions about EODHD and EvidInvest
- How much does EODHD cost?
- As shown in USD on their pricing page on 9 September 2026: a free package at $0, EOD Historical Data All World at $19.99 per month or $199.00 per year, EOD+Intraday All World Extended at $29.99 or $299.90, the Fundamentals Data Feed at $59.99 or $599.90, and the All-in-One package at $99.99 or $999.90 per year. Single-dataset marketplace APIs run from $9.99 to $29.99 per month. Their prices are geo-localized, so a European visitor sees euros — check the currency you are actually quoted.
- Does EODHD have a free tier?
- Yes. Their free plan is stated as 20 API calls per day with a 20-per-minute rate limit, end-of-day historical data and limited fundamentals for US exchanges, with no credit card required and a data range limited to the past year. They also publish a demo token that works for their SEC filings endpoints on three tickers.
- Does EODHD go back as far as EvidInvest?
- On US fundamentals, they state the same start year we do. Their fundamentals page says “major US companies are covered from 1985 (40+ years); non-US symbols from 2000 (25+ years)”, and EvidInvest states standardized annual statements from fiscal 1985 with 30+ annual periods on file for 5,000+ US-listed companies. History depth is not the honest differentiator between these two — what each row carries with it is.
- Which one links a number back to the SEC filing it came from?
- EvidInvest does it at the row level: every US statement row from fiscal 2009 carries the filing date, accession number and sec.gov URL of the filing where that fiscal year first appeared, and pre-2009 rows carry null rather than a fabricated link. EODHD publishes accession numbers at the filing level through its SEC Filings API, which is marked beta, and its url fields point at its own API rather than at EDGAR; a per-statement-line link back to the source document is not stated on the pages checked.
- Does EODHD have 13F institutional holdings?
- It ships institutional ownership data without ever using the phrase 13F. Its Fundamentals product includes a Holders block with institutional and fund ownership — holder name, date, total shares, total assets, current shares and change — plus a percent-institutions field, and insider data is separate as an SEC Form 4 endpoint. So institutional ownership: yes; described as 13F filings: not on the pages checked.
- Which one should I connect to Claude or ChatGPT?
- Both run hosted MCP servers, so this is cheap to test rather than argue about. EODHD publishes 72 read-only tools across 15 categories, with an API-key endpoint and an OAuth 2.1 endpoint, open-sourced on GitHub — the better fit if the assistant needs prices, options, forex or macro data. EvidInvest publishes 59 tools over standardized statements, cited filing and transcript passages, supply-chain facts and valuation, with OAuth so nothing is pasted into the client.
Sources
Pages opened on . Nothing on this page comes from a third-party roundup or a press release.
- https://eodhd.com/
- https://eodhd.com/pricing
- https://eodhd.com/financial-apis/
- https://eodhd.com/financial-apis/stock-etfs-fundamental-data-feeds
- https://eodhd.com/financial-apis/sec-filings-api
- https://eodhd.com/lp/eodhd-mcp-server
Corrections are welcome and acted on. If something attributed to EODHD is wrong or has changed, tell us and this page is updated at the next check, or sooner.
More: the MCP server and its full tool list, the developer documentation, and the other comparisons in this series.
EvidInvest never says buy or sell. It shows what the filings say and how each number was computed. Research, not investment advice.