Comparison · re-checked monthly
Financial Data APIs Compared (September 2026)
Nine providers, eight columns, and one rule: every competitor cell below was read off that company's own pricing or documentation page on , with the URL listed at the bottom. Where a vendor does not state something, the cell says “not stated” instead of guessing. Where their own pages disagree, both readings are quoted.
Two columns do most of the deciding. The first is how far back the financial statements go, because that is the one constraint money cannot lift. The second is whether the data arrives attached to the filing it came from, so that a person — or a model — can open the original and check it. That second one is not a claim about a documentation page; it is a property of the response. Here is an unedited row from get_income_statement for Apple, fetched on :
{
"date": "2025-09-27T00:00:00.000Z",
"revenue": 416161000000,
"net_income": 112010000000,
"eps_diluted": 7.46,
"filing_date": "2025-10-31",
"accession": "0000320193-25-000079",
"source_url": "https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/320193/000032019325000079/0000320193-25-000079-index.htm"
}Those last three keys are on every statement row, over REST and MCP alike, and that URL opens the 10-K on the SEC's own servers. Rows older than the XBRL era carry null there rather than a fabricated link. Three of the nine providers below return filing text with a source link at all.
Last verified . Re-checked monthly. Prices are list prices and change without notice — confirm on the vendor's page before you buy.
The table
Scroll sideways for the full set of columns. Every figure is the vendor's own, quoted as they word it.
| Provider | Entry price | What the entry tier includes | Years of statement history | Filing citation with the data | MCP server | Free tier | Subscription or pay-as-you-go | Non-US coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EvidInvest | Free to start, then credit packs: $10 = 360 credits, $20 = 720, $59 = 2,000 | 900 API and MCP calls on the first key, no card. 55 REST tools, same tools over MCP. | Annual statements from fiscal 1985 — 40 years. 30+ annual periods on file for 5,000+ US-listed companies. Filing-linked from fiscal 2009. | Yes, on every statement row, over REST and MCP alike: each row carries filing_date, accession and source_url for the filing where that fiscal year first appeared (null on pre-XBRL archive rows). Filing and transcript search return the passage with its accession and sec.gov URL too. | Yes — first-party, streamable HTTP at mcp.evidinvest.com/mcp | 900 calls on the first key. No card. | Pay as you go. Starter $10 = 360 credits, Plus $20 = 720, Pro $59 = 2,000. 1 credit = 10 API/MCP calls; AI analyses draw credits by the tokens they use. Credits never expire, no subscription. | 40,000+ listings on 60+ exchanges, standardized by EvidInvest, end-of-day prices, no filing link. |
| Financial Modeling Prep | $29/month, or $22/month billed annually | Starter: 300 API calls/minute, annual fundamentals and ratios, historical prices, profile and reference data, news, crypto and forex. | “Historical Data Range: 5 years” on the entry tiers. “30+ years” starts at Premium, $69/month. The free tier also caps statements at 5 results. | No — the SEC endpoints return filing indexes and metadata with links to the filing. There is no passage-level search in the documented endpoint list. | Yes — first-party hosted server at financialmodelingprep.com/mcp, metered against the account’s API limits. Tool count not stated. | 250 calls/day, end-of-day data only, 500 MB per 30 days. Card requirement not stated. | Subscription only, monthly or annual. No pay-as-you-go option. | Gated by tier — the entry plan is US only, UK and Canada arrive at $69/month, and global coverage at $139/month. |
| Massiveformerly Polygon.io; renamed 30 October 2025 | $29/month, per asset class | Stocks Starter: unlimited API calls, minute aggregates, WebSockets, 5 years of history. No real-time, no financials. | Income statements: “Records date back to March 29, 2009.” The “20+ years” on the pricing page is market data, not statements. | No — no filing full-text search in the documented endpoint list. | Yes — first-party, for Claude Code, Cursor and ChatGPT. Endpoint URL not stated on reachable pages. | Stocks Basic $0 — 5 calls/minute, 2 years of history, no financials. Card not mentioned. | Subscription, priced per asset class. Financials are a $29/month add-on, or bundled at Stocks Advanced $199/month. | US only — “the entire universe of US equities data”, sourced from the SIPs and FINRA TRFs. |
| Alpha Vantage | $49.99/month | 75 API requests per minute, no daily limits, premium support. | Not stated — the fundamentals documentation gives no depth for statements, though price series are described as “20+ years”. A live call on their own demo key returned 20 annual periods for IBM, the oldest ending 2006-12-31. | No — no filing full-text search appears in the documentation. | Yes — first-party, mcp.alphavantage.co. Tool count not stated. | 25 requests/day, and unlimited for verified open-source or educational projects. Card not stated for the free key. | Subscription, monthly or annual. | Yes — 100,000+ symbols, with worked examples for London, Toronto, XETRA, BSE, Shanghai and Shenzhen. No exchange count given. |
| EODHD | $19.99/month; fundamentals feed $59.99/month | Entry plan is end-of-day prices only: 100,000 calls/day, 1,000 requests/minute, 150,000+ tickers. Statements are not in it. | “Major US companies are covered from 1985 (40+ years); non-US symbols from 2000 (25+ years).” Around 11,000 NYSE, NASDAQ and ARCA tickers have 25+ years; minor companies have 6 years. | No — filings are delivered as XBRL extracted into flat fields, 10-K/10-Q/8-K from 1994. No full-text search over the filing. | Yes — first-party, mcp.eodhd.com, v1 by API key and v2 by OAuth. | 20 calls/day plus a 500-call welcome bonus. No card required, stated explicitly. | Subscription, monthly or annual, minimum one month. | Yes — 70 exchanges as of August 2026, including LSE, XETRA and Warsaw. |
| Finnhub | $49.99/month market data; fundamentals from $50/month per market | Basic: 150 calls/minute, personal-use licence, US only, 10 years of daily OHLC. No standardized statements. | Fundamental-1: “10 years and 40 quarters.” Fundamental-2 and All-In-One: “30+ years annually and quarterly.” | Yes — Global Filings Search returns matched excerpts and highlight positions across SEC, SEDAR and UK filings. Premium, priced on request rather than on a published tier. | Yes — first-party, mcp.finnhub.io/mcp, OAuth, 70 tools, published 6 August 2026. | $0 — 60 calls/minute, US fundamentals only, no standardized statements. Card not stated. | Subscription, quarterly or annual. Fundamentals sold one market per subscription. | Partial — TSX, LSE, Euronext and Deutsche Börse. LSE delayed 15 minutes; other international markets end-of-day only. |
| Tiingo | $30/month; fundamentals are a paid add-on | Power: 109,841 unique symbols/month, 10,000 requests/hour, end-of-day composite prices, IEX feed, crypto, news. Fundamentals are not included and the add-on price is not stated. | Their own pages disagree: the pricing page says “15+ Years” for Power, the fundamentals documentation says “Data goes back over 20 years.” | Not stated — specific forms are ingested, but no search endpoint over filing text is described. | Not stated anywhere on the site or documentation. | Starter $0 — 500 unique symbols/month, 50 requests/hour. Fundamentals limited to 3 years of the Dow 30. Card not stated. | Subscription, plus a paid fundamentals add-on. | Mixed — the pricing page claims 109,841 global securities, while the fundamentals documentation says coverage is US equities and ADRs, 5,500+ companies. |
| Intrinio | $150/month | Individual: options, equities, US fundamentals and US end-of-day, stocks delayed 15 minutes, 1 seat, no redistribution or display. Call limits not stated. | “15+ years of standardized & as-reported financial statement data, sourced directly from the SEC.” No start year is given. | Not stated — no filing full-text search product appears on the data-feed pages. | Yes — first-party, intrinio-mcp.intrinio.com/mcp, unlocked by every active subscription. | None. A free trial is offered; its length, limits and card requirement are not stated. | Subscription only. No credits or pay-as-you-go. | Not stated — the feeds are named US Fundamentals, US EOD and US Index Constituents; only indices and ETF holdings are described as global. |
| sec-api.io | $49/month billed annually, $55/month billed monthly | Personal & Startups: Query API 20 req/s, Extractor, XBRL converter, Mapping, Stream, Download, PDF, MCP server, 50 GB/month. Full-Text Search is not in this tier. | Filings archive since 1993. XBRL financial statements “2005 to present.” The full-text index covers “all EDGAR filings and exhibits published since 2001.” | Yes — every result carries filingUrl, “the direct URL to the source document on SEC.gov”. | Yes — first-party, api.sec-api.io/mcp, remote, no install. | “Your first 100 API calls are on us.” One-off, not recurring. Card requirement not stated. | Subscription, plus $0.30/GB on download beyond 50 GB. | None — it is an EDGAR product. Foreign issuers that file with the SEC are covered through 20-F, 40-F, 6-K and the F-series. |
“Not stated” means the vendor's own page is silent on the point, not that the feature is absent. Quoted phrases are the vendor's wording. Where a company's site blocked an automated read, the sources list says so and names what was used instead.
Reading the history column
This is where the field thins out, so it is worth being precise about what each provider claims.
Four providers state 30 years or more
Two of them name 1985 specifically; the other two say “30+ years” without a start year. If a full-cycle question is what you are here for, this is the shortlist — but read the next card before you use it as one.
Three of those four gate it behind an upper tier
The deep history is not on the plan the price column advertises. On one it appears at $69/month rather than $29; on another the fundamentals feed is a separate $59.99/month product; on a third it is the second and third fundamentals tiers, not the first. The entry price and the history depth are frequently not the same purchase.
Three publish a hard, shallower start
2009 for one, 2005 for another, and “15+ years” without a year for a third. These are good products; they simply cannot answer a question that begins before their data does, and no plan upgrade changes that.
Two do not state a depth at all
One documents no figure for statements anywhere, and a live call on its own demo key came back with twenty annual periods. The other states two different numbers on two of its own pages. Neither is an accusation; both are a reason to test your specific tickers on a free key before committing.
The pre-2009 problem
Structured SEC data begins with XBRL in fiscal 2009. Anything earlier has to come from somewhere other than the machine-readable filing, which is exactly why so many of these rows stop where they do. The practitioner guide to loading 30 years of statements works through what breaks and shows a 41-year Apple series being pulled in one call.
Who should not pick EvidInvest
The table above is only useful if this section is honest, so here it is.
If you need real-time or tick-level market data, look elsewhere — prices here are Cboe data delayed by at least 15 minutes, every price-bearing response says so, and there is no tick feed at any price. If you need full options chains at scale, with historical chain snapshots and greeks across strikes, this is not that product; the options coverage is positioning-level, not a chain archive. If you need crypto, there is none. Futures, foreign exchange and real-time news feeds are likewise not covered.
Two more honest limits. Quarterly statements do not reach as far back as the annual series, so a decades-long quarterly panel is not available. And the 40,000+ listings outside the US are standardized by EvidInvest with end-of-day prices — they have no SEC filing behind them, no filing link, and less history than the US set, so the 40-year and citation claims on this page describe the US series and should not be read onto the rest.
What is left, and what this is actually built for: long-run filed fundamentals on US-listed companies, filing text you can quote with an accession number behind it, valuation models that show their inputs, and a bill that is a one-off top-up rather than a subscription.
What EvidInvest costs
One balance per account, shared by every API key, spent by the website and the API alike.
Starter
$10
360 credits
Plus
$20
720 credits
Pro
$59
2,000 credits
One credit is ten API or MCP calls; AI analyses draw credits by the tokens they use. Credits never expire and there is no subscription to cancel. Before any of that, the first key on a new account carries 900 free API and MCP calls at no cost and asks for no card. Full tool catalogue and setup on /developers.
Questions about this comparison
- Why does the table have “not stated” in it?
- Because the vendor does not say. Every cell here was read off that company's own pricing or documentation page on , and where a page is silent the cell says so rather than filling in a number from a blog post or from memory. Two vendors state a history depth on one page that contradicts another page of their own; both readings are quoted rather than averaged.
- Why is statement history the column that decides most of this?
- Because it is the constraint that cannot be worked around. Rate limits can be batched, prices can be budgeted, and a missing endpoint can be replaced — but if a provider’s fundamentals begin in 2009, no amount of money buys you 1995. If your question is about a full market cycle, a long-run compounding rate, or how a business behaved through 2001 and 2008, the history column eliminates most of the field before price is even relevant.
- What does the citation column actually mean?
- That the data comes back attached to the filing it came from, so a person or a model can open the original. On EvidInvest this happens at two levels: every statement row carries filing_date, accession and source_url for the filing where that fiscal year first appeared, and filing search returns the matched passage with the same three. Three providers in this table return filing text with a source link; the rest return numbers without one. Note that the competitor cells in that column describe filing-text search — no vendor here was separately checked for a citation on each statement row, so read their entries as being about search, not about that.
- How much does EvidInvest cost in practice?
- The first API key comes with 900 API and MCP calls, free, no card. After that, credit packs are Starter $10 for 360 credits, Plus $20 for 720 credits and Pro $59 for 2,000 credits. API and MCP data calls bill at one credit for ten calls; AI analyses draw credits by the tokens they use. Credits never expire, there is no subscription, and the website itself is free to use.
- How often is this page re-checked?
- Monthly. Every competitor cell is re-read from the vendor’s own page and the date at the top moves, or the row is marked unverified. A price table nobody maintains goes wrong fast: one provider in this table changed its name, its domain and the shape of its pricing inside a single year, and comparisons that were not re-checked went on quoting the retired name for months afterwards.
Sources
Pages opened on . Nothing in the table comes from a third-party roundup, a press release or an earlier version of this page.
Financial Modeling Prep
- https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/developer/docs/pricing
- https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/pricing.md
- https://site.financialmodelingprep.com/api-docs.md
Their front door blocks automated requests, so the figures above were taken from the markdown mirrors the site publishes in its own llms.txt, cross-checked against the rendered pricing page. The MCP endpoint is described on their own blog; no MCP documentation page exists, so the tool count is not stated.
Massive
- https://massive.com/pricing
- https://massive.com/docs/rest/stocks/fundamentals/income-statements.md
- https://massive.com/docs
- https://massive.com/stocks
The rebrand from Polygon.io is announced at massive.com/blog/polygon-is-now-massive; polygon.io redirects here.
Alpha Vantage
EODHD
Finnhub
- https://finnhub.io/pricing
- https://finnhub.io/docs/api/global-filings-search
- https://finnhub.io/static/finnhub-how-to-connect-mcp-server.html
The pricing page renders client-side; its figures were read from the data the page itself serves rather than from a rendered screenshot.
Intrinio
sec-api.io
EvidInvest
- https://evidinvest.com/developers
- https://evidinvest.com/pricing
- https://mcp.evidinvest.com/v1/openapi.json
Coverage figures come from the production data: annual statements from fiscal 1985, 30+ annual periods on file for 5,000+ US-listed companies, rows filing-linked from fiscal 2009, 40,000+ listings outside the US on 60+ exchanges, 55 REST tools in the OpenAPI spec, prices from Cboe delayed 15 minutes.
Corrections are welcome and acted on. If a figure attributed to your product is wrong or has changed, tell us and this page is updated at the next check, or sooner. All trademarks belong to their respective owners; EvidInvest is independent of and unaffiliated with every other company named on this page.
EvidInvest never says buy or sell. It shows what the filings say and how each number was computed. Research, not investment advice.